A Year Without Slicing

I skipped Slice of Life last year because I was overwhelmed.

I’m slicing this year because I’m overwhelmed.

I skipped Slice of Life last year because I didn’t think I could handle one more thing.

I’m slicing this year because I need to do something for myself.

I skipped Slice of Life last year because I didn’t have any motivation.

I’m slicing this year because I want to motivate myself.

I skipped Slice of Life last year because I lost my grandmother.

I’m slicing this year because I miss her.

This piece is part of the #SOL24 March Slice of Life Story Challenge hosted by the Two Writing Teachers.

20 responses to “A Year Without Slicing”

  1. Leigh Anne Eck Avatar
    Leigh Anne Eck

    This is such a heartfelt and honest post. I hope slicing helps you to find unexpected stories about your grandmother. Welcome back!

    Like

  2. mccoytmh Avatar

    Welcome back! Let’s do this!

    Sorry to hear about your grandmother, but it sounds like you might have a good way to remember the stories you shared.

    Peace!

    Like

  3. britt Avatar
    britt

    Oh, I’m so, so sorry. I just lost my grandfather 15 days ago. May writing in community be comforting, may we remember the tenderness even of strangers. I’m glad you’re here.

    Like

  4. Anita Ferreri Avatar
    Anita Ferreri

    I am glad you are here and back for the challenge. Writing every day (and commenting) is a HUGE challenge ;and yet, (in year 13) I am back because I know that I will learn about myself and grow as a writer as well as a human! I look forward to following your journey…one day and one small moment at a time!

    Like

  5. onathought Avatar

    I love this so much. It’s just so true. I slice because I’m so busy and so overwhelmed . . . I’m so glad you are slicing again this year. I can’t wait to read more slices.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. hardly an artist Avatar
    hardly an artist

    you’re doing it! Go you!

    Like

  7. Elisabeth Ellington Avatar

    Welcome back! I absolutely love the format you’ve chosen here: so powerful. Your final two lines pack such a punch. In these spare lines, your love for your grandmother comes through. Your slice is also so insightful about the role writing can play in our lives. How often I have avoided writing because I was overwhelmed or lacked motivation–when writing itself would have been a way through the overwhelm, a way to re-engage and motivate myself. Very glad I found your blog today!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Fran McCrackin Avatar

    Oh, this is beautiful. Your pattern of alternating lies is the perfect form for what you wanted to say. Your first two lines are so poignant, and I think are shared by many who write here.And your ending brings it to the personal and is so touching. I hope to read about memories of your grandmother, but even if you dont write about her, I know this month of writing will help you with your grief. Here’s to writing and sharing, and I’m so glad you decided to be here.

    Like

  9. Mayela14 Avatar

    Oh, how this resonated with me. I felt every line. Beautiful in it’s simplicity, you said so much.

    Like

  10. aggiekesler Avatar

    What a different perspective from last year to this year! I sure hope that this month of slicing helps you. I’m feeling overwhelmed too, but I’m hopeful that writing through it can help me make sense of it all. I’d love to read slices about memories with your grandmother.

    Like

  11. Day 9 of the March SOLSC #SOL24 – TWO WRITING TEACHERS Avatar

    […] from the blog limitlyssthoughts, shared a post titled “A Year Without Slicing.” She shares a poem that shows parallels between why she didn’t slice last year and why […]

    Like

  12. Stacey Shubitz Avatar

    Welcome back! I appreciate your honesty and explaining the why behind your return.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. mbhmaine Avatar

    This is such a beautiful slice. I was already feeling nostalgic today, and your words made me tear up. It’s so interesting that feeling overwhelmed can be a reason for doing something and a reason for avoiding that same thing. That one idea is something to think about for a while! I’m so sorry about your grandmother and hope that writing this year is bringing you what you need. Thanks for sharing this slice.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ana Valentina Patton Avatar

    I love the rhythm in which you so directly reflect on your reasons to love again this year. I’m definitely inspired! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. mschiubookawrites Avatar

    This slice resonates so deeply on multiple levels. I almost did not write today because I’m exhausted from caretaking, but I think I was meant to read your inspirational slice. First, I am deeply sorry for your loss. This slice is crafted with such care and reflection about the role writing can play. Welcome back.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. shfruit Avatar
    shfruit

    Your slice motivated me today! I could feel every line. I am so sorry for your loss. I have processed my missing of my grandfather through poetry. 

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Pia Alliende Avatar

    I am back after two years of not participating for many of the same reasons you wrote in this slice of life. Very inspiring. Thank you for letting me see in your writing the whys we do this challenge.😍

    Liked by 1 person

  18. natashadomina Avatar

    I love the contrast between your perspectives last year and this year. It’s powerful because it feels so true –how all those reasons can be blocks and also motivation to slice.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. cmargocs Avatar
    cmargocs

    I am sorry for your loss, and I sympathize. I was drawn to your highlighted post because I, too, have avoided Tuesday Slicing since September. It’s been a difficult year at work for me, and I got to the point where I didn’t feel like faking a positive outlook…and didn’t want to add any negativity to the circles.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. mazerlymusings Avatar

    Alyssa, this is a gorgeous, profound slice. I read it when you posted it and circled back to it when it was highlighted in on the TWT blog. But I want you to know I kept thinking about this one! The contrast and similarities between your mindset of last year and this year says so much. I can’t wait to read more from you. Beautifully written!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

I’m Alyssa

Welcome to limitlyssthoughts… where I’m writing until I feel right.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started