Before The Rainbow Bridge

2013šŸ’•

Today we learned that our days are numbered with my sweet, sweet Savi girl. The X-rays manifested my fears into reality as they showed us just how bad things were progressing. This is one of the hardest decisions Iā€™ve ever had to make, but I know itā€™s one thatā€™s necessary, no matter how much it hurts. I walked into the vet today knowing in my gut that things were bad, but somehow it didnā€™t make it any easier to hear the harsh reality that our time together on this earth was coming to an end. The rainbow bridge is calling her home.

Savi would be turning 13 years old this June- sheā€™s my very favorite old lady. To be exact, she would be 91 in dog years and thatā€™s pretty ancient. Savi has been around for 13 of the 14 years Iā€™ve been with my husband. We literally grew up together. Come to think of it, sheā€™s been around for so many big moments that itā€™s difficult to think of a world where she isnā€™t in it.

Savi is short for Savannah. Bā€™s grandma named her and loved her for a year before she became too much to take care of. There were too many close calls of her running out onto a busy road where she easily could have been hurt or much much worse. It seemed like there was nothing she loved more than giving us all a heart attack as we chased her around neighborhoods, up and down hills, and frantically along busy roads. I canā€™t help but laugh as I think about the irony when I let her run free in my front yard- or anywhere really, knowing sheā€™ll come back to me whenever I call her name.

As I reflect back on our time together I think about how much weā€™ve been through and how much has changed. All of lifeā€™s big moments were spent with her by my sideā€¦ through tears, smiles and heartbreak, moving out of my childhood home, my first apartment, graduating college, my first house, getting engaged, getting married… I always hoped sheā€™d be around for my first child but maybe that spot will forever be reserved by her.

We plan to spend these next few days doing all of her favorite things (without getting her too worked up) and spoiling her rotten. Too many treats? Not possible. Too many back scratches and belly rubs? Not a thing. Sometimes I catch myself getting upset as I look at her and think about her not being there, but I donā€™t want her to feel or sense my sadness. So I force a smile and laugh as I think about how much joy she has brought to my life. Then the smile isnā€™t so forced anymore.

I think about when sheā€™d drag her basket of toys across our entire apartment, when sheā€™d go crazy over balloons and when I say crazy, I mean sheā€™d absolutely lose her mind. I think about how much she loved kids and how sweet she was to my nieces and nephews. I think about how people always thought she was a puppy, even at the age of 12 because of how tiny she is. I think about her Christmas PJā€™s and the sweaters and coats weā€™d put on her to keep her warm in the winter. I think about the way sheā€™d kick her little leg when we gave her back or belly scratches or how many ridiculous Halloween costumes and clothes sheā€™d let me dress her in. I think about how picky she is with treats- I mean the girl only ever eats meat or cheese. She made keto cool before it was a thing. What a trend setter.

In the midst of so much heaviness in my life, this is really the last thing I needed. But I know that the universe works in mysterious ways. Perhaps the universe thought I could spend more time with her during her last days. Or maybe it believed that it would be too much to bear during any other time. Either way, it doesnā€™t make the inevitable goodbye any easier.

To be honest Iā€™m not sure what would have been worseā€¦ a sudden goodbye or choosing when we have our last moments together. My heart is breaking every time I look at her, but it also gives me a sense of peace when I think about how she wonā€™t be suffering any longer. I canā€™t help but ask myselfā€¦ is it too soon? Should we have tried something else? Is she in pain? What will I do without her? I have so many questions and so many feelings. But I know in my heart that this is the time no matter how much it breaks me.

Hereā€™s to our last days and hours together before you cross the rainbow bridge, Savi. I love you more than words or a slice could ever express. I hope you know how much I love you now and forever more.

This piece is part of the #SOL24
March Slice of Life Story Challenge
hosted by the Two Writing Teachers

6 responses to “Before The Rainbow Bridge”

  1. Becky Avatar
    Becky

    I am so sorry to hear about Savi and that the x-rays shared something fearful. Savi is lucky to have you in her life. I am thinking of you! šŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. limitlyssthoughts Avatar

      Thanks, Becky šŸ’•

      Like

  2. onathought Avatar

    Iā€™m so sorry about this. Itā€™s heartbreaking. You are giving her the best gift by letting her go – and by giving her wonderful time in the time you have left with her. I truly believe that itā€™s harder for us than for the animals in these times ā€” and itā€™s so good that you are putting on a brave face for her. When I read things from animal communicators, they always say that the dog (or cat) is fine – they know that death is part of life ā€” they just want to be sure their person is okay. So keep telling her you wil be okay ā€” itā€™s good for you to hear too. I know itā€™s hard. I know. Iā€™m holding you all in the light.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. limitlyssthoughts Avatar

      Thank you for your words. Truly šŸ’•

      Like

  3. mazerlymusings Avatar

    This is just heart wrenching. You and Savi are lucky to have each other. Hugs to you and B and Savi!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. limitlyssthoughts Avatar

Leave a comment

I’m Alyssa

Welcome to limitlyssthoughts… where I’m writing until I feel right.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started