Slicing Through It

β€œThis is really special to Mrs. S, please don’t break it.”

I watched the aged Penn State rocking chair that belonged to my husband’s sweet grandmother be pushed, banged, and slammed into the cabinets behind it. It’s happening again.

Time passes…

β€œWhat happened?”

I can feel the heat on my face as I realize how red it is. My heart is beating faster. I repeatedly slow down my breathing as I explain while bins continue to fly off of shelves.

Time passes…

β€œI’m coming over…..”

She grabs my hand and walks with me. I can’t tell you how long it’s been since anyone has done that. I’m not actually even sure anyone has ever done that to me before.

Time passes…

This time, no one’s talking. Just the voices and visions in my head as I relive every moment. I scream cry and hit the steering wheel as I make my drive home. I’m mad. I’m angry. I’m so incredibly sad. I’m lost. I’m worried. I feel like I’m failing. I can’t breathe.

Time passes…

I’m home. I’m showered. I’m curled up next to my husband and trying to slice my way through this. I just don’t know if it’s enough.

This piece is part of the #SOL24
March Slice of Life Story Challenge
hosted by the Two Writing Teachers

9 responses to “Slicing Through It”

  1. natashadomina Avatar

    Sounds like such a hard day. The succinct glimpses of your thoughts and reactions ramp up the emotion for readers. I hope things get better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. limitlyssthoughts Avatar

      Thank you so much πŸ’•

      Like

  2. kristasjots Avatar

    I’m sorry today was a hard day. I hope tomorrow is better. Hugs. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. limitlyssthoughts Avatar
  3. Greg&Linda Avatar

    My heart hurt for you as I was reading. It sounds like one of the horrible days that just cover the windshield in front of you. I sincerely hope tomorrow is a better day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. limitlyssthoughts Avatar

      Thank you so much for your kind words πŸ’•

      Like

  4. Becky Avatar
    Becky

    I’m so sorry this happened to you, again. It’s not easy when it lingers every where you go.

    I hope that tomorrow is a better day for you, in many ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mazerlymusings Avatar

    This writing is incredible, this situation is heartbreaking.

    Like

  6. DontBotherOrtizMe Avatar
    DontBotherOrtizMe

    I struggled to respond because I’m living your life. If it helps you to know, you are not alone. In your anger, sadness, heartache and frustration.
    If writing helps, keep putting your words out there.
    And don’t forget to use your days and take care of YOU. πŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

I’m Alyssa

Welcome to limitlyssthoughts… where I’m writing until I feel right.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started