Peace

Did you know that some believe hyacinths stand for peace? A quick Google search told me that the hyacinth is the flower of the sun god, Apollo, who is the god of healing, medicine, archery, light and the sun among other things. In the Christian church, it’s also a symbol of love and happiness.

I’m not a religious person, but god could I use a lot of that right now. Maybe not archery or some of the other things I didn’t mention here, but you get the point. I need peace. I need to heal. I have so much healing to do and I’m not even sure where to start.

When I started slicing this year, I thought that doing so was triumphant. I was allowing myself a platform to get the junk out of my head with occasional humor because that’s how I cope with things. But it feels wrong to slice today when things are so heavy. Until I saw the hyacinth blooming in my flowerbed. It gave me a moment of peace in this season of hurt and chaos. I even got down on my hands and knees to smell its tiny blooms because I love the scent of them so much.

So in the midst of my greatest defeat, I allowed myself a moment of peace. Today was really hard, like really really hard…and my teacher self would say that I did the best I could do with what I have. And that’s going to have to be enough right now as I find more peace.

This piece is part of the #SOL24
March Slice of Life Story Challenge
hosted by the Two Writing Teachers

11 responses to “Peace”

  1. Natalie Dunne Avatar

    This slice resonates with me SO MUCH. Because I’m going through something really, really hard right now too and I have been finding it hard to slice while in the thick of it. And because my purple hyacinth bloomed today too! I was so excited to see it this morning!! I hope it brings you the peace you need and I am hopeful it means peace for me too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. limitlyssthoughts Avatar

      Wishing you so much peace 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. onathought Avatar

    It is enough. You are enough. the other day you wrote about marigolds. Remember that you are someone’s hyacinth too. Sending you peace and love. I’m glad you are writing. It might not feel triumphant – but It is a good, good thing … especially when going through the hard stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. limitlyssthoughts Avatar

      Thank you 💕 I needed to hear that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. cmhutter Avatar

    So glad that the little flower brought you a moment of peace today. Your photo is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kristasjots Avatar

    May you continue to find peace and healing. ❤ I can really connect to this line, “But it feels wrong to slice today when things are so heavy.” There are so many things I want to write about… but I don’t think I can. Here’s the bravery in our words.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. limitlyssthoughts Avatar

      Wishing you peace, friend 💕

      Like

  5. mazerlymusings Avatar

    Alyssa, I admire you endlessly. Wishing peace and light to you – I am here to help lift you up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. limitlyssthoughts Avatar

      Thank you so much 💕

      Like

Leave a comment

I’m Alyssa

Welcome to limitlyssthoughts… where I’m writing until I feel right.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started