Admission

Maybe it’s time to admit

that the little girl that lives within me

has been taking care of others for too long.

Maybe it’s time to admit

that tiptoeing around feelings and weighing everyone else’s emotions

wasn’t her job, or at least it shouldn’t have been.

Maybe it’s time to admit

that slipping into silence while making assumptions about the weight of every foot step and sound of every sigh

isn’t a burden she should have had to bare.

Maybe it’s time to admit

that her feelings are not wrong

and her happiness is sacred.

Maybe it’s time to admit

that she doesn’t have to carry it all at once

and it’s okay to put things down when they’re too heavy to carry.

This piece is part of the #SOL24
March Slice of Life Story Challenge
hosted by the Two Writing Teachers

3 responses to “Admission”

  1. Heidi Allum Avatar

    I really love the format you have here, the repetitive line “maybe it’s time to admit”, and your almost mantra-like noticings about yourself and your place in your life. And YES! power yourself up with this poem. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. edifiedlistener Avatar

    Whew, I felt this one. Not because it mirrors my own experience but because it makes your experience palpable in such a dramatic fashion. The repetition of “maybe it’s time” proves especially effective in emphasizing the stream of realizations.

    Like

  3. Greg&Linda Avatar

    I feel this. “Her happiness is sacred” and often last thought of. Why do we put everyone else first? This took me a long, long time to unlearn. I hope you are on your journey towards peace & happiness now.

    Like

Leave a comment

I’m Alyssa

Welcome to limitlyssthoughts… where I’m writing until I feel right.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started