The Next Chapter

This afternoon I celebrated a beautiful mama to be who happens to be one of my dearest friends. I know in my bones that she is going to be such an amazing mom. She’s kind, genuine, and strong as hell. We’ve been friends for about 8 years or so, but it feels like it’s been forever. Pregnancy looks good on her- I mean she’s literally glowing and she looks so stinkin’ cute. It’s surreal to think that we’re entering this season of life together. Getting married… having babies. So much is changing and it’s all going by incredibly fast.

Her baby shower was at the same venue I had my bridal shower back in September, so it was funny to be back. It’s a local winery and the location is absolutely beautiful. It’s small but cozy and the decor is fresh and modern so there isn’t a need to go overboard with decorating because of how pretty it already is. Aside from the obligatory splashes of pink, balloons, and the word, “baby” of course, it didn’t need a whole lot.

As we posed for a picture together in front of the baby pink arch, I couldn’t help but think about how time is such a funny thing. It feels like just yesterday we were posing for pictures and taking Jell-O shots in her mom’s kitchen before going out for a long night of drinking and dancing. We’d stay out until the DJ would play the last song and have our post-drinking bagels waiting for us at home. Sometimes I miss those days, but I’m really excited for this new chapter together. It might just be our best one yet.

We used to talk about being moms together one day. We even talked about possibly coordinating being pregnant at the same time. It was a long shot, but one can hope. Even though we didn’t get that timing just right, I feel so blessed to enter this new phase together. We’re already planning summer walks with the baby and Im already thinking about the dance moves I’ll teach her and all the stories I’ll tell about her mom and I. Walking down memory lane can be fun but I can’t help but smile when I think about the future.

This piece is part of the #SOL24
March Slice of Life Story Challenge
hosted by the Two Writing Teachers

3 responses to “The Next Chapter”

  1. onathought Avatar

    This is one of the many reasons I love slicing – one day you will read this slice and have such a fun blast from the past … reading your words as you reflected at the beginning of the future!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. natashadomina Avatar

    It sounds exciting to be entering into this next stage of your lives together. I especially loved your paragraph about reflecting on time passing. It’s such a contrast to the stage that you’re in now, but illustrates beautifully how your friendship is evolving–what a special thing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. britt Avatar
    britt

    Looking back on your posts is so awesome, especially with slices like this one. Congratulations to your friend!!

    Like

Leave a comment

I’m Alyssa

Welcome to limitlyssthoughts… where I’m writing until I feel right.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started